Miss More

Why I Don’t Wear Make-Up

In Let's Talk About It on 14/05/2014 at 11:32 PM

No. I am not a make-up hater. I just don’t like the idea of walking out my house with a mask on my face. Plus, I am hella confident. And no, I don’t walk around as if I own the world. I walk around as if I own myself.

905f178d7d477139a3c512dcb185c249

What has inspired this post? I think it’s the whole “no make up selfie” campaign, it baffled me how some of those women were making out that taking a picture with your face bare was  a huuuuge deal. And then I realised that it is in fact big deal. Us women have set these utterly ridiculous standards of beauty, that no one even knows the point any more.

Don’t get me wrong, I understand the point of make up, to various extents it enhances what you already have going on. But why has it been incorporated into a woman’s every day routine? Why is going barefaced seen as something that’s out of this world? Ask your self that the next time you’re in front of the mirror putting devices that look like torture devices near your face.

My skin is not perfect. In fact it’s no where near perfect. I’ve been battling with acne for a while now and I am presently winning the war (Sudocrem my darling, Sudocrem!). Yet I don’t have the first clue about foundation or concealer or whatever the hell women put on their face to even out the skin tone.  On the bright side, my eyebrows are literary perfect, so I don’t even tweeze them. The only “grooming” I do on my face is of course wash, moisturise with cocoa butter (what else is there), wear a Sudocrem face mask as well as coconut oil on my lips at night not forgetting I brush my lips for that extra softness.

I’ll admit that I do own two mascaras (which I wear about once a year), one that I permanently borrowed from my mum, the other that my mum gave to me because she bough make up sets for a crazy low price. And my lips are quite (very) nice so I’m all about my lip stuff, I do own only 4 lip products. The first a lip gloss that came with the mascara, it’s not my colour nor the colour of anyone I know so it currently just chills in my bathroom cabinet. The second is a lip balm on stick, I absolutely love it. The second is another lip gloss, that I wear every now, now and then, people often mistake it for lipstick. Lastly I have the classic, Vaseline because as we all know Vaseline makes a black girl’s world go round.

And that is what would be in my make-up bag, if I had one. So, why don’t I wear make up. The reasons are pretty simple, in no particular order….

you-are-beautiful-quotes-about-being-beautiful11

1. I don’t like the idea of basing how I look, on something that can easily be wiped away with a Kleenex.

2. I’ve worn make-up before, while I was doing performing arts in secondary school. Maaaaan, I felt like I was wearing a mask.

3. I value sleep.

4. Lip gloss gets everywhere. I can’t even begin to imagine the horror of  full on make-up.

5. I like  being  able to just splash some water on my face during the day for the sake of waking me up, without even a second thought.

6. I can look up at the sky while it rains. (Seriously, I do that sometimes)

7. I touch my face way too much, to walk around with a mask on my face. E.g. rubbing my eyes is precious.

8.  I can’t help but feel as if make-up will only butcher my skin. I don’t trust none of these cosmetic companies. Look at all the trash they put in our food alone, what the hell do they put in cosmetics?

9. I am a bit of a natural to the core girl.

10. I was raised knowing that beauty does not lay in a make up bag,

With all that said, I think one day in the distant future I’ll be bored enough to buy some cheap ass make up and practice for when I’m going out somewhere, because as I said before, I understand the point of make up.  But would I put it  in my regular everyday routine…. NAH. Tell me, why exactly do you wear make-up, I’m curious.

Until we meet again, Miss More.

  1. Did I ever tell you that I love you ? Great Post!! I love the way you write, you’re hilarious chicky!

    Like

  2. Amen to that sister. I swear I could kiss you right now missmore but I’m not going to because obviously that would be way weird 😉 Beauty is definitely not comprised entirely out of makeup. Sure there is an fun and exciting element to frosting yourself once in a while on occasion but constantly hiding your face under layer of foundation doesn’t appeal in the least.

    I mean what do you do when it’s summer and the temperature causes it to melt? I’m sure that can’t be good for the pores in our skin. They need to breathe. Imagine a heating fan that is covered under a blanket. Shudders. The visual itself is horrible. Plus I’m rubbing my eyes constantly so I don’t think I could even wear eyeliner frequently.

    Like

    • You my dear, have just restored my faith in humanity!! For it is one thing to wear make up, but another to look as if you got raped by a pack of felt tips.

      Like

What Are You Saying....

KUDZY PEPS

Hairdresser & Healthy Hair Advisor

Heirloom Bohemian Boutique

Ajualuv Ascension Essentials LLC

Spoken Words & Thoughts

Words and Thoughts Shared

Black Zulu

Black Hair | Black Skin

