Miss More

Amber by Julie Sykes | Book Review

In Books on 01/10/2013 at 10:42 AM

“It struck me that it would be quite helpful if there were a written guide to life. I could do with a book to help me decode some of the everyday mysteries I was up against.”

I found this book through one of the blogs I follow here on WordPress, one of the bloggers wrote something and honestly I wanted to read it because the cover looked good, I was purely intrigued.

RATING – 3/5

AMBER

How do you live by the rules if you  don’t know what they are?

Amber’s lost her memory. She doesn’t even know her  real name. The only clues to her identity are a beautiful amber necklace and a  broken mobile phone. She’s determined to learn the truth about her past life,  and the secrets she’s hiding, but how many rules will she break along the way?

*** REVIEW***

Frankly I don’t have much to say about this book. “Amber” is aimed for teens, I would recommend early teens, they’d really appreciate this one. I found some of this book very basic and very very predictable, especially the dramatic parts. Sykes didn’t do much for character development I guess it works because Amber doesn’t even know who she is for most of the book. The writing style is alright, not the best but not the worse with all this said you have to take into consideration that the book is aimed at 13 year olds, Teen Vogue is the best they’ve come across.

I kind of liked Amber because she wasn’t the normal “I need a knight in shining armour” female character that plague non-fiction books. Amber was in control, she knew what she wanted and honestly I think that Sykes did well to develop the whole “I don’t know who I am” theme of the book and you did get glimpses of the real Amber just out of reach.

“With a deep sigh I sent the mirror spinning through the air to the bedside locker. As it spun I flipped it, so that it landed propped against the wall where I could see it. I looked at it often turning my head quickly in it’s direction, as if by sneaking up on my reflection I’d catch it out and remember who I was. But the girl in the mirror was faster. She never gave anything away.

I guess you can class “Amber” as sci-fi in the beginning it seems to be supernatural I was expecting witches or something, then I thought that maybe it’s some superhero stuff. I liked how Sykes kept me guessing the genre, I argue that it links in to the fact that Amber doesn’t know who or what she is. I never could have guessed what Amber turned out to be, it was truly well thought of. The ending was satisfying, I would have like more, like you always do with books but it was kinda kinda perfect.

The one thing I’ll leave you with is what I will forever applaud Sykes for….. NO LOVE TRIANGLE!!!! I want to hug her for that gift. I should say that there is a love interest well two actuality but how Sykes managed to not create a triangle is for you to find out. The book is available on Amazon and wherever else.

Love, More

What Are You Saying....

KUDZY PEPS

Hairdresser & Healthy Hair Advisor

Heirloom Urban Botanica

Ajualuv Ascension Essentials LLC

Spoken Words & Thoughts

Words and Thoughts Shared

Black Zulu

"She believed she was beautiful...and she was."

