Miss More

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger | Book Review

In Books on 21/07/2013 at 5:01 AM

“Don’t you think it’s better to be extremely happy for a short while, even if you lose it, than to be just okay for your whole life?”

When I say I hated this book. I mean, I HATED THIS BOOK. And it’s all because of the main female character Clare Abshire, she must be Bella Swan’s ancestor.

 Rating: 2/5

timetraveler

I’m going to talk about the good things about the book, because I do think that “The Time Traveler’s is an okay read. I just happened to have hated it. The book reads like this; Henry DeTamble has this weird ass “genetic disorder” which means that he uncontrollably travels through time and space, the book is about him and his wife’s struggle to love one another even though time is certainly not on their side. If you like the fruity “star crossed lovers” shit, then this book is probably for you.

“Clare, I want to tell you, again, I love you. Our love has been the thread through the labyrinth, the net under the high-wire walker, the only real thing in this strange life of mine that I could ever trust. Tonight I feel that my love for you has more density in this world than I do, myself: as though it could linger on after me and surround you, keep you, hold you.”

I must admit that I liked the very unique narrative, the book is written at two first person narratives in the form of  entries in lack of a better word. At the beginning of each entry we are given a date and the ages of Clare and Henry at the time. The uniqueness comes in the fact that the dates are not in ascending order, we have a lot of time shifts so, it’s all kind of jumbled up, this narrative gives you an insight into Henry’s life, because he doesn’t live his life in a straight line either. Henry is alright, he’s nothing extraordinary but he fits the purpose. I was forced to read this as a focus piece for English Language and Literature so trust me when I say that Niffenegger’s writing game is tight. Now, enough with me being nice.

Trust me when I say, that I want to rip every strand of Clare Abshire’s beautiful long red hair and then strangle her with them. I want to burn her alive. That is how much I hate her. And because I hate her. I hate the book. I am one for strong female characters, that’s a nice way of saying that I hate vaginas. I hate Clare. Because she is a vagina. I lost respect for her when she revealed that she had sex with her best friend’s boyfriend a while before the events of the book. No it’s not that I see her as some kind of whore, I don’t respect her because she allowed him to I quote “fuck” her while he smoked on a cigarette.

What The Actual Fuck. I’m sorry I can’t get over it.

I don’t like the fact that Clare’s entire life revolves around Henry. Look at the title of the book. The Time Traveler’s WIFE. She is nothing without him. She spends her whole life waiting on him, I don’t care if it’s love. It’s also pretty unrealistic, like what woman would put her entire life on hold just for him, like hell even after Henry dies, the bitch is still waiting around for him.

“It’s hard being left behind. I wait for Henry, not knowing where he is, wondering if he’s okay. It’s hard to be the one who stays.”

To be fair, Clare is emotional strong and all that, she goes through terrible loss that make you truly sympathise with her. I still hate her though. And finally there is this strange air about the book that I can’t get over. Well, Henry and Clare first meet when he is 36 and she is 6. That’s just wrong. Although Henry had no “intentions” when he first met her, I still see it as essentially grooming. You can sugarcoat it all you want but he was 36 and she was 6. That’s just… *shivers*.

I actually recommend that you read this, anyone normal would not only recognise but also acknowledge it’s merits. But I’mnot normal you see. We have all come across books that we’ve just plain hated, “The Time Traveler’s Wife” is one of mine.

“We laugh and laugh, and nothing can ever be sad, no one can be lost, or dead, or far away: right now we are here, and nothing can mar our perfection, or steal the joy of this perfect moment.”

Love, Miss More.

  1. I loathed that bloody book. All the pretentious name dropping of cool bands and whatnot by the author, in a desperate attempt to appear ‘hip’ and relevant.. The character of Claire- A vile self-absorbed human being who often expresses herself with all the class and eloquence of a drunken frat boy. Actually, they were both awful. I haven’t witnessed such an unlikable couple since reading Wuthering Heights. At least they had a reason to be loathsome.

    Like

What Are You Saying....

KUDZY PEPS

Hairdresser & Healthy Hair Advisor

Heirloom Bohemian Boutique

Ajualuv Ascension Essentials LLC

Spoken Words & Thoughts

Words and Thoughts Shared

Black Zulu

Black Hair | Black Skin

