Miss More

The Dark Duet by CJ Roberts | Book Review

In Books on 02/01/2013 at 1:05 AM

 “Why are you doing this?” she said hollowly. He turned, a wry smile playing across his lips. She wanted a reason. Serial killers had reasons. Reasons made no difference.

Where do I begin?……. “The Dark Duet” is freakin’ amazing. It totally mind fucked me. I got raped…. by a book!!!!! CJ Roberts has a lot to answer for. -wink-wink-

Grade Achieved: A*

My Summary: Caleb has spent the last 12 years of his life working towards repaying his debt to Rafiq, the man who saved his life and so much more. 18 years old Olivia “Livvie” Ruiz is a mean to an end. Caleb snatches Livvie from everything she ever knew and delivers her into the beginning of the end. Olivia is destined to be a weapon against a man that deserves to die. And she can do nothing about it.  Held captive in the dark, a hot and cold love affair brews between them. All that hides in the dark, must come out in the light. Can Caleb give up his revenge & his freedom when he can almost taste it, for a woman? A woman he loves? Or does love NOT conquer all.

dark duet captive in the dark - Copy

“You’re not a damsel in distress and I’m not the handsome prince come to save you”

 This series in the running for the best books I’ve ever read.  Miss CJ Roberts is surely the business, for she has taken a horrifying theme and created I dare say, one of the greatest love stories on print.  If you are easily disturbed you need to stay away from these books because once you start them, every bone in your body will command you to finish them. This series will consume you, possess you & completely mind fuck you. I double dare you to dive into it.

I see “Captive in the Dark” as a book long prologue, “Seduced in the Dark” is the epic  conclusion. This story is so powerful that Roberts needed a whole book to set the scene before the story picks up pace, in “Captive in the Dark” she lays the foundation for the characters. The characters are so well laid out. Like Livvie.

The naive girl in me had been bitch slapped into womanhood. I’d been razed by pain, grief, loss and suffering, and honed by lust, rage and an acute awareness of my need to survive”

Livvie! Livvie! Livvie! Livvie is one incredibly strong young woman, I well and truly love and adore the hell out of her.   She is an ordinary girl in an extraordinary situation, and this situation brings out all the weaknesses and strengths living in human beings. Survival at all costs & the need to be loved amongst many things. Roberts is dealing with the delicate issue of trafficking. Trafficking is very real and in this series Roberts brings it home one hundred percent raw. She does not sugar coat anything. They’re a lot of scenes that you could relate to BDSM. And straight away your thinking of 50 Shades of Gray. My friend, this is a world away. The whole book is based around Caleb turning Livvie into a real life sex slave. Livvie does not have a choice, they are no safe words and no contracts. Roberts does well to describe the transition a human being has to go through to turn into a slave & also slave mentality through both Caleb and Livvie.

“Each day I was more vulnerable than the last. Each day he stripped away more of my sense of self. And now he’d taken the last of it, the last of me. But who did that make me? An extension of him? Someone new? I didn’t know. Didn’t want to know.”

“He was my tormentor and my solace; the creator of the dark and the light within.”

Caleb!!… The anti-hero.  I love to love anti heros. But it was hard to love Caleb. I think that’s how Roberts intended it to be. Yes, Caleb is a man with a broken past &  a stolen childhood, but he also a kidnapper, a murder and a rapist. One minute he’s sweet and the next you just hate his guts. I think that is a realistic way of portraying a man like him. I loved how CJ didn’t just thrust him to the reader, he didn’t have  a -Love ME! Love ME- feeling. He is a truly well written character, I love how Roberts made me both sympthise with him and fucking want him dead. Side note: He is absolutely smoking HOT! Like he breaks the HOT scale. Infact, I hereby declare Caleb to be Sex. f you are reading this CJ, well done!!

“Monsters are aren’t born, they’re made, and someone made Caleb”

“Seduced in the Dark” is much more complicated. Where the first book was very… I can’t find the word. It was all about Caleb & Livvie & the dark. One thing I found myself debating was whether Livvie really loved Caleb. Was it the slave mentality talking? Did Livvie convince herself that she loved Caleb because it was just easier for her to love her “tormentor”? Was the love legit? Honestly, I can’t decide the correct answer.

“I felt protected. I felt kept. Without him, my life was a giant question mark”

“I felt many things towards him, and yes, hate was perhaps among them, but there were others too, far more complex than simple hate”

Anyways….. the second book has one of the best narrative layout EVER!!! It reads like a movie. Loved that. Robert just weaves all these different narrative styles like a BOSS. The new characters add this flavor to the story. I loved  finding out more about Caleb’s past, which majorly broke my heart! Honestly, I can talk about this book forever. Last but not least, the twist! There is the motherfucker of twist in this book, thinking about it, it’s not exactly a twist but it’s defiantly something. I was saying “oh no” for like 10 minutes when Agent Reed put two and two together about what Rafiq did. Also, CJ Roberts writing style is epic in high proportions, that is why the series is highly addictive, you have been warned.

Essentially “The Dark Duet” is about the hot and cold relationship between a slave and a master. But that simple foundation opened the gatez to a roller coaster ride, the love story to possibly end all love stories, a story of change and just how far individuals go for revenge, a complete mind fuck. Words can’t even begin to hold how amazing “The Dark Duet” is. I feel so jealous of anyone who hasn’t read this book because they get to discover a work of pure genius.

 “Mine…. “The word was a declaration. It rocked him to his very foundation. It was a truth he’d kept hidden for far too long”….. Rafiq  will understand. I’ll make him understand.” 

  1. […] my review of The Dark Duet, I said that in my eyes “Captive in the Dark” was an elongated prologue setting up shop […]

    Like

What Are You Saying....

KUDZY PEPS

Hairdresser & Healthy Hair Advisor

Heirloom Urban Botanica

Ajualuv Ascension Essentials LLC

Spoken Words & Thoughts

Words and Thoughts Shared

Black Zulu

"She believed she was beautiful...and she was."

